Zafraan Ensemble

Zafraan Ensemble © Neda Navaee

21/04 - 21:00h - CONCERT N.7

Fabra i Coats-Fàbrica de Creació

Martin Posegga, saxophone / Clemens Hund-Göschel, piano / Beltane Ruiz Molina, double bass / Daniel Eichholz, percussion


⇨Zafraan Ensemble


Supported by:


- Cavall (2018) of Josep Planells Schiaffino (Community of Valencia) 

for saxophone, double bass, percussion and piano.

- Fury (2005) of Rebecca Saunders (United Kingdom) 

for double bass.

- Hammer (2015) of Stefan Keller (Switzerland) 

for saxophone, percussion and piano.

- Klarinettentrio (1993) of Carola Bauckholt (Germany) 

arrangement for saxophone, double bass and piano.

- Scent (2018) of Joel Järventausta (Finland) 

for saxophone, fdouble bass, vibraphone and piano.

- Rural Electrification (2018) of Seán Ó`Dálaigh (Ireland) 

for saxophone, double bass, vibraphone and piano.

- Superimpose I (2009) of Alexander Schubert (Germany) 

for piano, double bass, saxophone, percussion and electronics.


Zafraan stands for music that reflects all facets of life, society and reality today. In combination with other art forms, Zafraan observes, explores and processes that which surrounds us: people, events, nature and technology, the normalities and absurdities of today. The democratically-organised ensemble constitutes ten fixed members from Spain, France, New Zealand, Australia and Germany. It was founded in Berlin in 2009 and predominantly performs contemporary repertoire that is covered by its core instrumentation of violin, viola, cello, double bass, flute, clarinet, saxophone, harp, piano and percussion. The group challenges itself and the audience; they experiment and surprise. In collaboration with conductors such as Titus Engels or Manuel Nawri, artists such as Chiharu Shiota, Aliénor Dauchez and Louise Wagner, and composers such as Samir Odeh-Tamimi, Alexander Schubert, Elena Mendoza, Stefan Keller, Johannes Borowski, Eres Holz and Helmut Oehring, they push at boundaries, provoke, take risks, and create something new. In doing this, Zafraan draws out the narrative power of music, enabling audiences to experience stories that have to be told. The ensemble is comprised of the following members: Liam Mallett, Miguel Pérez Iñesta, Martin Posegga, Anna Viechtl, Daniel Eichholz, Clemens Hund-Göschel, Emmanuelle Bernard, Josa Gerhard, Martin Smith and Beltane Ruiz Molina.